Tour De France 2013 Stage 5 Cagnes-Sur-Mer To Marseille Review

Updated: July 3, 2013

Mark Cavendish gets his much anticipated 24th stage win at The Tour De France and a step closer to Eddy Merckx’s record of stage wins (34). He just about beat ex-team-mate Edvald Boasson Hagen, not far behind were strong favourites, Andre Greipel and current green jersey holder, Peter Sagan. Ted King didn’t start the race having finished seven seconds outside the time limit when left behind by his Cannondale team.

This year break-aways have occurred inside the first kilometre so often that it has become routine, this ritual continued today with Reza (EUC), Lutsenko (AST), Sicard (EUS), De Gendt (VCD), Pelaplace (SOJ) and Arashino (EUS) leading the way. It didn’t take them long at all to make a one minute gap between them and the peloton, after only 4 kilometres. The peloton at one stage was trailing by 5 minutes and 5 seconds, making Arashino the current Tour De France leader at that stage in the race.

De Gendt made another attack for the two points on offer in the first of four climbs today, he got away from the leaders with Delaplace trying to stay on his tail, De Gendt got two points, Delaplace got one point on Cote de Chateauneuf-Gasse. The lead lead grew to 12 minutes 45 seconds at the 37 kilometre mark, but the gap didn’t get any bigger than that. From there on, the lead very slowly deteriorated. De Gendt picked up the only point available on the Cote de l’Ange. De Gendt didn’t hesitate to pick up maximum points on the intermediate sprint as well, picking up 20 points, followed by Lutsenko (17 Pts), Delaplace (15 Pts), Arashiro (13 Pts), Sicard (11 Pts) and Reza (10 Pts).

When the peloton arrived at the intermediate sprint Andre Greipel came first out of the group, ending up seventh on that sprint, picking up 9 Pts followed by, Kirstoff (8 Pts), Sagan (7 Pts) and Cavendish in 10th place (6 Pts).

Coming up to the third climb, the lead was lowered to 7 minutes 50 seconds. De Gendt didn’t bother trying to take the points this time, leaving Arashimo to attack and take the one point.

Throughout the whole race, a reoccurring event was a lot of wheels getting punctured, this luckily didn’t effect anyone’s race too much, although one of the escapees, Sicard, got a puncture in his wheel, but it didn’t mean too much as he was able to catch up with the group at a reasonable pace. Injured Geraint Thomas also fell behind due to a puncture, but didn’t look bothered by the injury to be able to catch the peloton.

With 60 kilometres to go, the gap between the peloton and the escapees looked very big and hard to reach, but the peloton raced with more urgency and teams like Omega, Lotto and Orica tried to lead the group at a quicker speed.

Arashimo, Lutsenko and De Gendt attacked and got away from the three others probably to try and keep a quicker and more consistent speed for the last half of the race. Reza not long after made the move to go with the leaders and attained his place again with the leaders. The two others, Delaplace and Sicard fell back into the peloton for the first time since the beginning of the stage.

With 47 kilometres to go, the gap between the peloton and the leaders had got up to 6 minutes and it looked like a tall order to be able to catch them, but just under ten kilometres afterwards, the gap decreased to just under five minutes, indicating that the peloton could make up for that time.

With 30 kilometres to go, it was confirmed that if the race positions and time differences stayed as they currently were in the race, Gerrans would retain his yellow jersey for tomorrow.

The leaders didn’t think they’d have to push it on the last climb but they found the peloton to be breathing down their necks. Two surprise exclusions from the peloton were David Millar who was expected to retain his solid position in the overall standings and Goss who was expected to be a strong contender for the last sprint to the finish-line. De Gendt added another point climbing over Cote de Bastides to add to his three points gained before on the mountains.

15 kilometres from the end and in the middle of the peloton a crash was caused involving Rolland, Pineau, Kittel and Vande Velde, no-one was seriously injured. The Gineste descent was attacked by Lutsenko and Reza, leaving the two others, Arashino and De Gendt to drop back into the peloton after having tried their best to fight against the very strong peloton.

7 kilometres from the end and Omega were setting up for a Mark Cavendish win by leading the peloton, Reza got caught up in the peloton, but Lutsenko was determined to not be caught, although he tried his best and put in as much as he could, he couldn’t compete with the peloton. Omega, Orica, Lotto, Cannondale, Vaconsoleil and Sky were the main teams trying to set up a win for each team’s sprinter.

Before the last corner a crash happened, it caused for a a few minutes being lost for some of the riders. In the end Mark Cavendish got a couple of metres ahead of his rivals, he was riding at the same speed as his opponents before the finish line, Andre Greipel, Edvald Boasson Hagen and Peter Sagan, but he had the advantage of starting to sprint just a couple of metres before them.

Stage Classification

1 GBR M. Cavendish O.Ph.-Q-Step 5:31:51
2 NOR E. Boasson Hagen Team Sky +0
3 SVK P. Sagan Cannondale +0
4 GER A. Greipel Lotto +0
5 ITA R. Ferrari Lampre +0
6 NOR A. Kristoff Katyusha +0
7 SPA J. Lobato Euskaltel +0
8 LIT R. Navardauskas Garmin +0
9 FRA C. Lemoine Sojasun +0
10 SPA J. Rojas Movistar +0
25 IRL N. Roche Saxo-Tinkoff +0
28 GBR C. Froome Team Sky +0
104 IRL D. Martin Garmin +0
182 GBR G. Thomas Team Sky +10:08
183 GBR D. Millar Garmin +10:08
General Classification 
1 AUS S. Gerrans Orica 18:19:15
2 RSA D. Impey Orica +0
3 SWI M. Albasini Orica +0
4 POL M. Kwiatkowski O.Ph.-Q-Step +1
5 FRA Sy. Chavanel O.Ph.-Q-Step +1
6 NOR E. Boasson Hagen Team Sky +3
7 GBR C. Froome Team Sky +3
8 AUS R. Porte Team Sky +3
9 IRL N. Roche Saxo-Tinkoff +9
10 CZE R. Kreuziger Saxo-Tinkoff +9
17 IRL D. Martin Garmin +17
90 GBR P. Kennaugh Team Sky +9:18
95 GBR D. Millar Garmin +10:25
146 GBR M. Cavendish O.Ph-Q-Step +26:50
176 GBR I. Stannard Team Sky +36:11
183 GBR G. Thomas Team Sky +37:45
Team Classification
1 Orica 54:05:53
2 Team Sky +3
3 Saxo – Tinkoff +9
4 Garmin +17
5 Movistar +20
6 Lampre +25
7 BMC Racing +26
8 RadioShack +28
9 Katyusha +28
10 Vacansoleil +33
11 Belkin +37
12 +42
13 Astana +56
14 AG2R +1:04
15 Sojasun +1:10
16 Europcar +1:13
17 Cofidis +1:20
18 Euskaltel +1:24
19 Cannondale +1:57
20 Lotto +13:00
21 Omega Pharma – Quick-Step +17:35
22 Argos +53:30
Points Classification 
1 SVK P. Sagan Cannondale 111 Pts
2 GBR M. Cavendish O.Ph.-Q-Step 76 Pts
3 NOR A. Kristoff Katyusha 76 Pts

Mountain Classification 

1 FRA P. Rolland Europcar 10 Pts
2 AUS S. Clarke Orica 5 Pts
3 FRA B. Kadri AG2R 5 Pts

Under 25 Classification 

1 POL M. Kwiatkowski O.Ph.-Q-Step 18:19:16
2 USA A. Talansky Garmin +16
3 COL N. Quintana Movistar +19


“Tour De France 2013 Stage 5 Cagnes-Sur-Mer To Marseille Review” written by Seb True

Facebook – /LetsTalkSport

Twitter – @SeBAsTianMrANt

Email –

Twitter – @Lets_talk_sportG

DailyMotion – /letstalksport




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *