Nibali Gets Yellow Jersey Back As Contador Crashes Out

Updated: July 14, 2014

A few days after becoming the кредит онлайнfavorite to win this year’s Tour De France, Alberto Contador has pulled out of the Tour De France after a nasty crash. Contador’s forfeit leads the way for Nabili to win.

The race started out in sunny conditions, which has started to become rare this year. As per usual, there was an early breakaway, Thomas Voeckler was a main part of it.

Rodriguez, Sagan and Barta tried their best to be a part of the breakaway group but just ended up filling the gap between the peloton and th eleading group. 

It started to rain before the first climb of the day, the col du Firstplan. Rodriguez accelerates on the climb and starts dragging Barta and Sagan behind him, being a strong climber. Voeckler got first place in the climb to take 5 points, Rodriguez 3 points, Peter Sagan 2 points and Riblon 1 point. 

Sagan sprints ahead to get a big head start on the intermediate sprint, he gets first place completely unopposed. He slowed down to wait for the leading group. Westra 17 pts, Riblon 15 pts, Irizar 13 pts, Voeckler 11 pts….

Kwiatowski, Tony Martin, Rein Taaramäe, Reto Hollenstein and Marcel Wyss broke away from the peloton on the descent. 

Sagan and Gérard were fell behind on the ascent to Petit Ballon as Lieuwe Westra and Thomas Voeckler accelerated ahead of the leading group. Rodriguez showed a scary turn of pace ascending and got the ten points at the top of Petit Ballon with Voeckler failing to keep behind him the whole way and just dropped off near the top to get 8 points. Moinard 6 pts, Westra 4 pts, Visconti 2 pts and Riblon 1 pt.  

Cannondale rider Ted King was the first of the day to abandon the race. Tiago Machado who started the day in 3rd in the GC crashed, but he continued racing. Not long after, Contador crashed in the wet low cloud, he got back on his bike after valuable minutes spent on treatment, not long after riding, he decided to throw in the towel. 

Rodriguez excelled on the third climb of the day getting 10 points again with Voeckler behind him again to get 8 points. Martin 6 pts, Kwiatkowski 4 pts, Visconti 2 pts and Taaramäe 1 pt. 

On the climb to the col d’Oderen, Rodriguez yet again got the better of Voeckler getting 5 points and Voeckler getting 3 points. Martin got 2 points and Kwiatkowski got 1 point. 

At the col des Croix, the story was the same, Rodriguez finished ahead of Voeckler with 2 points and Voeckler getting 1 point.

On the last climb of the day at the col des Chevrères, Rodriguez got up the hill first without being challenged, he got 10 points. 15 seconds behind him, Visconti and got 8 points, Kwiatkowski and Moinard were 22 seconds behind Rodriguez and got 6 and 4 points respectively. Even further behind were Riblon and Voeckler with 2 points and 1 point. 

Kwiatkowski was the fastest down the hill, taking the most risks. Rodriguez joined the Pole on the flat to lead the race. 

Over 5 km left of the race and Rodriguez breaks away from Kwiatkowski. With 3 km left of the race, Nibali attacked to try and regain 1st place. 

Near the end (2 km), Nibali started to practically breathe down Rodriguez’s neck. With just over 1 km to go, Rodriguez was caught.

Nibali took victory and the yellow jersey whereas Rodriguez didn’t even figure in the top 5.

Stage Classification 

1. ITA    NIBALI Vincenzo ASTANA PRO TEAM 04h 27′ 26”
2. FRA   PINOT Thibaut FDJ.FR 04h 27′ 41” + 00′ 15”
3. ESP   VALVERDE BELMONTE Alejandro MOVISTAR TEAM 04h 27′ 46” + 00′ 20”
4. FRA   PÉRAUD Jean-Christophe AG2R LA MONDIALE 04h 27′ 46” + 00′ 20”
5. FRA   BARDET Romain AG2R LA MONDIALE 04h 27′ 48” + 00′ 22”
6. USA   VAN GARDEREN Tejay BMC RACING TEAM 04h 27′ 48” + 00′ 22”
7. AUS   PORTE Richie TEAM SKY 04h 27′ 51” + 00′ 25”
8. CZE   KONIG Leopold TEAM NETAPP-ENDURA 04h 28′ 16” + 00′ 50”
9. ESP   RODRIGUEZ Joaquim TEAM KATUSHA 04h 28′ 18” + 00′ 52”
10. ESP   NIEVE ITURRALDE Mikel TEAM SKY 04h 28′ 20” + 00′ 54”

General Classification 

1. ITA    NIBALI Vincenzo ASTANA PRO TEAM 42h 33′ 38”
2. AUS   PORTE Richie TEAM SKY 42h 36′ 01” + 02′ 23”
3. ESP   VALVERDE BELMONTE Alejandro MOVISTAR TEAM 42h 36′ 25” + 02′ 47”
4. FRA   BARDET Romain AG2R LA MONDIALE 42h 36′ 39” + 03′ 01”
5. FRA   GALLOPIN Tony LOTTO-BELISOL 42h 36′ 50” + 03′ 12”
6. FRA   PINOT Thibaut FDJ.FR 42h 37′ 25” + 03′ 47”
7. USA   VAN GARDEREN Tejay BMC RACING TEAM 42h 37′ 34” + 03′ 56”
8. FRA   PÉRAUD Jean-Christophe AG2R LA MONDIALE 42h 37′ 35” + 03′ 57”
9. POR   COSTA Rui Alberto LAMPRE – MERIDA 42h 37′ 36” + 03′ 58”
10. NED   MOLLEMA Bauke BELKIN PRO CYCLING 42h 37′ 46” + 04′ 08”

Follow Let’s Talk Sport:

Facebook – /LetsTalkSport
Twitter – @Lets_talk_sport



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *