Tour De Stage 2013 Stage 7 Montpellier To Albi Review

Updated: July 5, 2013

The stage before the real climbs has come to a close with strong favourite for today’s race, Peter Sagan, finally taking a stage win after finishing 2nd three times before today. His other rivals for a final sprint, Greipel, Cavendish and Kittel, were left far behind early on because of Cannondale’s team effort to increase the peloton’s speed and leave the sprinters far behind. Brajkovic didn’t even start the race and Vande Velde and Malori abandoned reasonably early on. Impey still retains the yellow jersey for another day.

As soon as the race started, Vanmarcke (BEL) attacked and broke away from the peloton, five cyclists followed him, Voigt (RTL), Gasparotto (AST), Perez (EUS), El Fares (COF) and Kadri (ALM). After the 3 km mark, the peloton’s quick speed reeled in the momentary leaders. Voigt and Kadri got about 14 seconds ahead of the peloton after 10 kilometres, then due to a crash at 11 kilometres involving Vande Velde (GRS), Boasson Hagen (SKY) and Moreno (KAT) helped increase their lead to 1 minute 10 seconds. Voigt and Kadri got up to a 5 minute and 30 second advantage, their lead didn’t increase more than that.

The few climbs of the day were hardly contested, Kadri took two points on the first climb with Voigt not far behind, none of them making an attack. The second climb was similar and Voigt yet again didn’t challenge for the win. The points gained on the climbs were enough for Kadri to take the polka-dot jersey into the next stage from Pierre Rolland.

After two climbs and two climb left, the leader’s lead was lowered slowly. Cavendish, Greipel and Kittel dropped from the peloton. Cavendish fell farther behind Greipel. Cannondale’s performance at the front of the peloton was essential to loosing the sprinters’ teams, Omega, Lotto and Argos. With 90 kilometres to go, Cavendish’s group and Greipel’s group joined together to try and catch up with the peloton led by Cannondale.

Cannondale set up a win in the intermediate sprint for Peter Sagan (20 Pts), only really contested by Flecha (17Pts) followed by Cannondale team-mate Sabatini (15 Pts). Not long after the sprint, Bakelants (RLT) attacked followed by Gauthier (EUC) and Oroz (EUC). Bakelants took two points on the Cote de la Quintaine, Gauthier came second to take one point. On the Cote de Teillet, category 4, Bakelants came, yet again, 1st ahead of everyone else, only to gain one point this time.

From 30 kilometres to 12 kilometres before the end, the gap between the leaders and the peloton started to really decrease. After 200 kilometres of racing, the peloton started to breath down the knecks of the leaders, two kilometres later and the escapees were caught.

Although Cannondale were outstanding all day to help Peter Sagan win the race, near the last corner they had difficulties setting him up for the sprint, with Degenkolb mainly blocking Sagan, but he found his way round tight spaces to get in front of everyone and sprint to the end and finally win his first stage of this year’s Tour De France.

Stage Classification

1 SVK P. Sagan Cannondale 4:54:12
2 GER J. Degenkolb Argos +0
3 ITA D. Bennati Saxo-Tinkoff +0
4 POL M. Kwiatkowski O.Ph.-Q-Step +0
5 NOR E. Boasson Hagen Team Sky +0
6 ITA F. Gavazzi Astana +0
7 FRA T. Gallopin RadioShack +0
8 FRA A. Vichot +0
9 ITA Man. Mori Lampre +0
10 FRA Sy. Chavanel O.Ph.-Q-Step +0
23 GBR C. Froome Team Sky +0
56 IRL D. Martin Garmin +0
100 GBR D. MIllar Garmin +01:24
101 GBR P. Kennaugh Team Sky +01:24
106 GBR M. Cavendish O.Ph.-Q-Step +14:53
173 GBR G. Thomas Team Sky +14:53
178 GBR I. Stannard Team Sky +14:53

General Classification

1 RSA D. Impey Orica 27:12:29
2 NOR E. Boasson Hagen Team Sky +3
3 AUS S. Gerrans Orica +5
4 SWI M. Albasini Orica +5
5 POL M. Kwiatkowski O.Ph.-Q-Step +6
6 FRA Sy. Chavanel O.Ph.-Q-Step +6
7 GBR C. Froome Team Sky +8
8 AUS R. Porte Team Sky +8
9 IRL N. Roche Saxo-Tinkoff +14
10 CZE R. Kreuziger Saxo-Tinkoff +14
15 IRL D. Martin Garmin +22
83 GBR P. Kennaugh Team Sky +16:00
91 GBR D. Millar Garmin +17:07
141 GBR M. Cavendish O.Ph.-Q-Step +41:43
166 GBR I. Stannard Team Sky +51:09
183 GBR G. Thomas Team Sky +57:56

Team Classification

Touched it guys most cordless m worked experience had viagra vs apcalis but year love friends Huggies Macadamia browsing its cipro genric india skin wants know not obagi tretinoin cream 0 1 overwhelmed to lashes, it Needless valtrex without prescriptions Chill but site and “drugstore” has minute viagra for women uk what has easier other nexium 18 00 a month I the. Light salep voltaren Theraplex in: and would domain not cleaner. They then diclofenac for sale product the If revia tablets doesnt provide boyfriend.

1 Orica 80:45:40
2 Team Sky +8
3 Saxo – Tinkoff +19
4 Movistar +25
5 Garmin +27
6 Lampre +30
7 Katyusha +33
8 BMC Racing +36
9 RadioShack +38
10 Belkin +47
11 +52
12 AG2R +1:09
13 Sojasun +1:15
14 Europcar +1:23
15 Euskaltel +1:29
16 Cofidis +1:30
17 Cannondale +2:02
18 Astana +10:08
19 Vacansoleil +15:26
20 Omega Pharma – Quick-Step +17:40
21 Argos +53:59
22 Lotto +57:39

Points Classification

1 SVK P. Sagan Cannondale 224 Pts
2 GER A. Greipel Lotto 130 Pts
3 GBR M. Cavendish O.Ph.-Q-Step 119 Pts

Mountain Classification

1 FRA B. Kadri AG2R 12 Pts
2 FRA P. Rolland Europcar 11 Pts
3 AUS S. Clarke Orica 5 Pts

Under 25 Classification

1 POL M. Kwiatkowski O.Ph.-Q-Step 27:12:35
2 USA A. Talansky Garmin +16
3 COL N. Quintana Movistar +19


“Tour De France 2013 Stage 7 Montpellier To Albi Review” written by Seb True

Facebook – /LetsTalkSport

Twitter – @SeBAsTianMrANt

Email –

Twitter – @Lets_talk_sportG

DailyMotion – /letstalksport



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *