PREVIEW: Mubadala World Tennis Championship

Updated: December 31, 2014

Just days after their Christmas break, the top male players kick-off 2015 at the Mubadala World Tennis Championship in Abu-Dhabi.

The official ATP World Tour season begins this Sunday (4th January) in Brisbane as part of the build-up to the Australian Open, the first Grand Slam of 2015.

The Mubadala World Tennis Championship has been featured on the tennis calendar since 2009; Andy Murray won the very first edition against Rafael Nadal (6-4, 5-7, 6-3).

Five tournaments later, Nadal and Djokovic have been the previous champions. The Spaniard won the competition two years on the trot (2010 & January 2011), then the Serb topped his rival by claiming the title three consecutive times (December 2011, 2012 & 2013).


Past Finals

2013 – Novak Djokovic 7-5, 6-2 David Ferrer
2012 – Novak Djokovic 6-7 (4-7), 6-3, 6-4 Nicolas Almagro
2011 (Dec) – Novak Djokovic 6-2, 6-1 David Ferrer
2011 (Jan) – Rafael Nadal 7-6 (7-4), 7-6 (7-3) Roger Federer
2010 – Rafael Nadal 7-6 (7-3), 7-5 Robin Soderling
2009 – Andy Murray 6-4, 5-7, 6-3 Rafael Nadal



The Abu-Dhabi tournament is noticed as the last tournament in preparation for the season commencing.

In the 7th edition of the tournament, six well known players will take to the stage:



Novak Djokovic (1)
Rafael Nadal (3)
Stanislas Wawrinka (4)
Andy Murray (6)
Feliciano Lopez (14)
Nicolas Almagro (71)


As always, the surface they’ll be playing on throughout the three days is hard court; this can be seen as an advantage for Djokovic and Stanislas Wawrinka as both players are known for their recent display on the surface.

Nadal and Murray will be seen as the third and fourth favourites of clinching the tournament while Feliciano Lopez and Nicolas Almagro normally show their best on red clay.

Djokovic and Nadal will automatically be placed in the semi-finals waiting for their opponent to breakthrough the quarter finals.



Stanislas Wawrinka (3) v Nicolas Almagro (6) – (2nd match after 5pm)

Andy Murray (4) v Feliciano Lopez (5) – 5pm (local time)



Novak Djokovic (1) v Wawrinka or Almagro

Rafael Nadal (2) v Murray or Lopez


3rd & 4th Place Play-off

Runner-up SF 1 v Runner-up SF 2 – 5pm (local time)



Winner of SF 1 v Winner of SF 2 – 7pm (local time)



Djokovic will no doubt be the favourite to win the tournament for the fourth consecutive year, taking in the form he was on when the previous season was wrapped up in London.

Nadal, Wawrinka or Murray will be the main threat to end the Serb’s winning form.

Who will taste first glory of the new year and pick up a big cheque worth $250,000?



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *