FIFA World Cup Draw

Updated: December 6, 2013

England have been drawn into group D to face Italy, Uruguay and Costa Rica at next year’s world cup in Brazil.

England’s campaign for world cup triumph begins on the 15th June against four time winners Italy in the Amazonian City Manaus.

Their second game is to the two time winners of the competition, Uruguay, four days after their opener and will play their last match of the group against Costa Rica five days later.

When the announcement of England’s group was made, England manager Roy Hodgson straight away put his head down looking at his notes giving no sign of worry, as the manager said before the draw that him and the team were ready to face anyone.

Group D will include a lot of traveling for all four nations around the South American country to get to the venues where the stadiums are scheduled to host.

The opening match of the world cup will take place in Sao Paulo between the hosts Brazil and Croatia. The second match of the group will be between Mexico and Cameroon.

World cup holders Spain will start their defense against the Netherlands in Salvador. Spain beat Holland in the 2010 world cup final after a late extra time goal from Andres Iniesta scored the winning goal of the tournament.

Chile and Australia are also featured in Spain and Holland’s group making the nation from South America have just an outside chance of upsetting the odds.

One of the likely contenders of lifting the trophy in July, Germany have been drawn in group G with the likes of the USA, Portugal and Ghana. USA coach, Jurgen Klinsmann will be managing his side against the country he comes from, played for and also won the world cup with in 1990.

Germany kick-off their tournament against Ghana in which the two sides last met at the group stages at the last world cup in South Africa. A goal from Mesut Ozil separated the two on that day.

All group stage matches conclude on 26th of June with South Korea, Belgium, Algeria and Fabio Capello’s Russia wrapping it up.


Full draw

Group A: Brazil, Croatia, Mexico & Cameroon

Group B: Spain, Netherlands, Chile & Australia

Group C: Colombia, Greece, Ivory Coast & Japan

Group D: Uruguay, Costa Rica, England & Italy

Group E: Switzerland, Ecuador, France & Honduras

Group F: Argentina, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iran & Nigeria

Group G: Germany, Ghana, USA & Portugal

Group H: Belgium, Algeria, Russia & South Korea


The 2014 FIFA World Cup begins on Thursday 12th June

Follow Let’s Talk Sport on:

Facebook – /LetsTalkSport

Twitter – @Lets_talk_sport

Dailymotion – /letstalksport



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *